What a wonderful world it should be.

IMG_0088

Me, I am a retired 69 year old family man who is living a privileged, middle class, life. Privileged in the sense that I meet two of the three benchmarks, no, the trifecta for conditionally qualified acceptance to the most august of American demographics. White, male and Christian. I mean, I have passed for W.M.C. all my adult life but the older I get the more ethnic I look and my sir name is a dead giveaway. Kind of foreign sounding. I would get the “What kinda name is that?” question. Don’t get me wrong the white male part greased the skids. I’m just saying. 

Like all of us, my world view has been forged by my life’s experiences and my genetics. I perceive myself as a way above average “Everyman”. Not too exceptional mind you. I’m allowed, it’s me writing about myself after all. I must say, from up here, I was 5ft 11.5in at my peak and I can see that we could easily do much, much better than this shit fest. WTF people? Look at our world today. There are millions upon millions of people living without the basics of food, clean water, shelter and clothing. This is no longer just a third world problem. You may have noticed tent communities popping up near you. These people are the neglected detritus of corrupted societies and it certainly includes our own. The problems are pervasive and getting worse. What ever happened to “Of the people, by the people and FOR THE PEOPLE”. People seem to be yearning for a past that never was and are looking for anyone to lead them to that magic golden city on a hill. To acknowledge we, the citizenry, are a significant part of the problem well go a long way in changing things for the better. By the way, what’s up with giving the rights of personhood to corporations? 

If I had my druthers, I would prefer that my prodigy inherits a healthy planet peopled by Homo Sapiens (us guys) who place a high priority on the husbandry of our shared home. Really, we can do this. After all, every Boy Scout knows to leave his campsite in better condition than he found it. It’s simply common sense, don’t you know? We should be living in a world with a healthy culture that’s symbiotic with nature and evolving technology. A society that places the betterment of the human condition as it’s prime directive. A world that values education and life long learning. I think I’ll allow myself the hope that humans will become comfortable with what it means to be an evolved species with all the baggage that ensues.

“… and no religion too” John Winston Lennon.

Go Ducks.

Leave a Reply

