Blaspheme or not to blaspheme?

img_0055

I’m at an impasse. I blog because I was well on my way to alienating family and friends with my fear of and views on religion. Thanks to antidepressants and a steady stream of well considered opinions, poignant witticisms and voicing my incredulity regarding the world as I see it, I’ve managed to calmed down significantly.

Now along comes Dapper Donald, an unabashed agent of the Christian Right and the president of this here United States, whom at the February 1st annual prayer breakfast, announced his intention to repeal the 1954 Johnson amendment, name after President LBJ. The amendment prohibits the indorsment of candidates from the pulpit and is the Donald’s latest assault on religious freedom.

I could care less what people choose to believe just as long as those beliefs stay private. Well I do care just a little. No, it’s the obvious consequences of mixing religion and politics. Think Saudi Arabia, Iran, the Vatican or any country with state sponsored religion. Mustn’t forget Islam and their sects oil and water doctrine issues. Now every cross, yarmulke or Hijab warring person I see is a threat to my emotional equilibrium. The impossible is getting closer to happening. A Christian nation forsooth. Next thing you know questioning the validity of transformation of water into wine will result in a visit to a rack practitioner. Please, a little historical perspective here. 

All the worlds religious texts are of human origins and open to interpretation. As a result there are thousands of Christian denominations alone. This is inherently divisive and is expressed in Sectarianism world wide. Western democratic institutions and individual freedom have never been more at risk since the end of the Second World War. 

Leave a Reply

