My introduction to religion

img_0068
Dramatic ain’t it? Sunday school fit the architecture.

At the age of 10 my parents decided that maybe I would benefit from an introduction to Christianity. That meant Sunday school. I knew about religion, sorta. Heck, this is America. It’s in your face daily. It’s unavoidable. I know my Dad is Jew-ish and my mom ain’t. So off I go. It’s a beautiful day, maybe I’ll make new friends. Up the steps, through the big double doors and down to the basement with the other kids I go. I have no recollection of what the SS teacher talked about. I do remember thinking “boring”. I did get a tour of the building. Again, boring.

I dutifully attended each Sunday. I even went to services. I kept thinking the place had the ora of a theatre and the minister was in costume and I was watching a performance. After a few months of this I knew that the building and accoutrements were helping to reinforce the belief in God and I had a problem. I didn’t believe any of it and I told my parents so. After talking it over it was decided I should attend Temple Sunday school.

I must admit it was a refreshing change. Instead of harping on heaven and hell and some hybrid person dying for my sins. They talked about Jewish history and practices. We studied many other beliefs and had field trips to their places of worship. Wow, I thought, what a smorgasbord of poo. Chinese and others are Buddhists, Middle Easterners are Muslim, Indians are Hindus, Japanese are Shinto and there are more Christian sects than I could count. By the time I was twelve years old I was done with all of it and told my parents how I felt. No more creepy church stuff for me.

I am now 68 years old. I have a wife of 42 years, two daughters, a son and two grandchildren. To this day the thought of anyone believing in anything supernatural still gives me the creeps. It’s so in your face obvious that there is no God I can’t help but shudder. For decades I just went along to get along. Imagine my delight to find that there are other like minded people in my community and they gather and talk about what interests them.

Oh yes, one more thing. The Christian concept of objective morality, based on the Bible, is in fact immoral. “The God of the bible is the most despicable fictional character in all literature: jealous and proud of it; a petty, unjust, unforgiving control-freak; a vindictive, bloodthirsty ethnic cleanser; a misogynistic, homophobic, racist, infanticidal, genocidal, filicidal, pestilential, megalomaniacal, sadomasochistic, capriciously malevolent bully”. (Richard Dawkins). It’s all in the book. Adult themes. Not recommended for young children under the age of 13. Parental control is advised. Seriously, threatening a child with eternity of torment and suffering, if he or she doesn’t believe is child abuse.

 

Leave a Reply

